On mansplaining and other annoying matters

Three things happened recently.

The sun released a flare.

My computer decided it was time to retire.

And a couple of men I know thought it was their duty to offer me their unsolicited opinions on some facets of my life they have zero experience with.

Needless to say, I felt exactly the same way as this cat towards the three:

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 12.45.43 PM

Then I decided to ignore the sun because, well, it’s the sun and frankly, there is nothing I can do about it (except, catch a few rays of it to maintain my Vitamin D).

I also forgave my computer because, really, six years is a very good age to call it quits.

But with men who think that expressing their opinion means telling me that I am “wrong” or, worse, shushing me when I am in the process of speaking, well

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 12.44.14 PMBecause unless their opinion deals with a proven fact of science that I happen to be denying, telling me I am “wrong” sounds at best dickish and at worst mansplain-y.

And, honestly, it’s the easiest thing in the world to ask someone if they want your opinion on their life and their decisions. Try it. I guarantee it doesn’t hurt.

But, if it happens and you (1) forget to ask and, gasp, (2) tell someone they are “wrong” in their choices, step back and listen. Because chances are they’ll tell you that your patronizing attitude isn’t quite the thing they wanted to hear. And for God’s sake, don’t argue back with all that crap that it’s your opinion and you are entitled to it.

Sure you are. But you know what you are not entitled to?

Expressing that opinion when not asked and when it deals with someone else’s life that they certainly have more knowledge and experience with. Especially if you are out to tell them they are “wrong” about it. It being their life.

Because no. Just no. You don’t have that right. Not anymore (in all the previous centuries, maybe).

Okay, rant over.

Back to staring at the wall, waiting for the new computer to arrive.

Leave a Reply

