Synchronicity of the Day

I am planning a book. I don’t know exactly what it’ll look like or what form it’ll take or what narrative it’ll assume.  All I know is that I want to write it.  And I have wanted to write it for a long time.

People say that one of the best ways to get a feel for the shape of your book is to read similar books.  Since I have a vague idea that this book will have something to do with my life experiences, I decide to browse some biography books.  And perhaps collections of personal essays. So I head to the local bookstore and stand in front of a biography shelf.

Not immediately but soon thereafter I find three books that sound like they would be fun to read.  All three are in hard cover. I am not in a position to buy three hard cover books at once but I decide I should start somewhere and I buy one of them.

Later that day at home I am going through my own library of books picking the volumes that I no longer need and that I can donate to my building’s library. When I bring them downstairs to the common room that serves as the library I, of course, browse for what I can also borrow to read.  And what do you think I find?

You guessed it.

I find the two books I didn’t buy a few hours earlier and another book that would be perfect for research and fun reading.

The Universe works in mysterious ways and little synchronicities abound.  They are all around, begging for us to notice them.  What for? Well, I have a theory.  And while this isn’t proven statistically, I believe I am really on to something.

I think synchronicities often happen when the Universe is trying to tell us something, push us somewhere. And that somewhere most likely has to do with our purpose in life – our reason for being here on this planet.

  • Have you been wanting to write a book, but never getting around to it? No problem – here are a few books, FREE!, for you to get inspired.  And while you are at it, here is a handy workshop right in your area that will teach you how to start.
  • Or have you been thinking of traveling somewhere but it’s never a good time and money is tight? Not an issue. How about running into people who just went where you’ve been dreaming to go on a shoe string budget and can tell you all about it? Plus, that gym membership may not be your best investment anymore now that you are running outside? Maybe save some cash and go?
  • Or .. what is this university course brochure doing on your desk again? You’ve been throwing it in the trash for the past few years yet it somehow keeps making its way into your mailbox.  Sure, there is a course in there you’ve been drooling over but this is not the right time.  Or is it?

You see where I am going with this?

Open your eyes and ears.  Look and listen.  Pay attention to what happens around you and what happens to you. Do it every day. And then share — what’s your synchronicity of the day?

2 thoughts on “Synchronicity of the Day

  1. can’t say I’ve had a moment like that recently, but I definitely agree that they’re out there. It’s inspiring to feel like the universe is on your side at times like these, tackling a huge project like a book and feeling so small as you contemplate the size of it. Good luck with your writing! It’s one of the most exhilarating undertakings I have ever experienced, just don’t give up! Looking forward to reading more as you move along in your work =)

Leave a Reply

